There are three priests belonging to our Diocese of Dromore currently serving in our parish, one Permanent Deacon, one priest on loan from the Diocese of Raphoe, One Polish priest from the Society of Christ and a community of Dominican priests and brothers serving the needs of some 29,000 people in Newry Parish.

Acting Administrator: Fr. Desmond Loughran

In June 2018, Bishop Boyce appointed the Very Rev. Desmond Loughran, Parish Priest of Dromore, as acting Administrator of Newry Cathedral Parish.



CN-hackett-webCanon Michael Hackett

Canon Hackett was born in Augher, Co Tyrone and attended Aughadarragh Primary School and St Colman’s College before studying for the priesthood.



Fr-KrzysFr Krzysztof Kosciolek SChr

Born in Piwniczna in the Polish mountains, Fr Krzysztof has been based in Newry since 2013. Fr Krzysztof is a member of the Society of Christ.



Fr-ColumFr Colum Murphy

Fr. Colum Murphy is from Rostrevor and attended St. Mary’s Boys Primary School in Rostrevor, St. Louis Grammar school, Kilkeel and St. Colman’s College, Newry.



Fr Damien Nejad (Diocese of Raphoe)

Father Damien was born and educated in Glasgow. He moved to Annagry in Donegal in 2005. He entered training for the priesthood in St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth in 2007. After serving as a Deacon in Newry Parish, he was ordained in St. Eunan’s Cathedral, Letterkenny on 11th December 2016 by Bishop Philip Boyce, OCD for the Diocese of Raphoe. Father Damien is on loan to our diocese from January 2017 onwards.


Deacon John McClelland

John was born in Newry and attended the Abbey Christian Brothers School.  After a distinguished career with the NI Fire and Rescue Service, he was ordained to the Permanent Diaconate in June 2017. John is married to Mary and they have two daughters and five grandchildren.


_mg_1742Dominican Community

The Dominican priests are responsible for the pastoral needs of parishioners in St Catherine’s Church.  Click here for further details.